

City of Gainesville

Development Review Board Meeting

MINUTES

May 28, 2024, 6:30 p.m.
City Hall, Roberta Lisle Kline Conference Room (Room 16)
200 East University Ave
Gainesville, FL 32601

Members Present: Kali Blount, Brent Hartman, Rebecca

Herrin, Patricia Lee, Mark Robinson

Members Absent: Sebastian Reina

A. CALL TO ORDER - 6:44 PM

B. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Moved by Patricia Lee Seconded by Kali Blount

Motion: The Development Review Board adopt the agenda with the following modifications: Name correction for Sebastian Reina.

Aye (5): Kali Blount, Brent Hartman, Rebecca Herrin, Patricia Lee, and Mark Robinson

Approved (5 to 0)

C. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

1. Approval of Minutes from the Development Review Board Meeting on February 27, 2024

Moved by Mark Robinson Seconded by Rebecca Herrin **Recommendation:** The Development Review Board approve the minutes from the February 27, 2024 meeting.

Motion: The Development Review Board approve the minutes from the February 27, 2024 meeting.

Aye (5): Kali Blount, Brent Hartman, Rebecca Herrin, Patricia Lee, and Mark Robinson

Approved (5 to 0)

D. BUSINESS DISCUSSION ITEMS

1. 2024-227 Blues Creek Unit 5 Design Plat SUB23-000027 (B)

Introduction:

Phimetto Lewis, Planner III, Department of Sustainable Development Brittany A McMullen, Planner IV, Department of Sustainable Development

Affected Party Determination:

Brent Hartman, Chair

Disclosure of Ex-parte Communications:

Brent Hartman, Chair addressed this item.

Katrina Alford, Affected Party, queried the board regarding Brittany A McMullen's status as an affected party. The Chair clarified that she was not, explaining to the affected party.

Swearing in of Affected Parties and Witnesses:

Korum Russell, Permit Expeditor I, Department of Sustainable Development

Staff Presentation:

Phimetto Lewis, Planner III, Department of Sustainable Development

Board Member Questions:

Kali Blount, Board Member asked a question on single-family dwellings.

Cross-Examination by Affected Parties:

Various affected parties spoke to the item, including Katrina Alford, Ashok Kumar, Stacey Cricchio, among others.

Brent Hartman, Chair; Patricia Lee, Board Member; Sean M. McDermott, Assistant City Attorney Senior; Brittany A McMullen, Planner IV, Department of Sustainable Development; and Phimetto Lewis, Planner III, Department of Sustainable Development also addressed the item.

Applicant Presentation:

Clay Sweger, Principal/Director of Planning, eda consultants presented on behalf of the applicant.

Board Members Kali Blount, Rebecca Herrin, Mark Robinson, and Patricia Lee spoke to the item.

Cross-Examination by Affected Parties (continued):

Further cross-examination by affected parties and responses from relevant individuals.

Staff Rebuttal:

Phimetto Lewis, Planner III, Department of Sustainable Development, and Brittany A McMullen, Planner IV, Department of Sustainable Development addressed the item.

Sean M. McDermott, Assistant City Attorney Senior also spoke to the item.

Additional Affected Party Input:

Affected Party Katrina Alford and Jennie A Ford, Environmental Coordinator, provided input.

Further Cross-Examination by Affected Parties:

More questions and responses from affected parties.

Applicant Rebuttal:

Sergio Reyes, P.E., President, eda consultants; Clay Sweger, Principal/Director of Planning, eda consultants; and Brittany A McMullen, Planner IV, Department of Sustainable Development addressed the item.

Public Comment:

No comments were made during this segment.

Deliberation and Vote of the Board:

Sean M. McDermott, Assistant City Attorney Senior; Brent Hartman, Chair; Mark Robinson, Board Member; Kali Blount, Board Member; Patricia Lee, Board Member; and Rebecca Herrin, Board Member all spoke to the item.

Moved by Kali Blount Seconded by Rebecca Herrin

Motion: To extend the meeting 15 minutes.

Aye (5): Kali Blount, Brent Hartman, Rebecca Herrin, Patricia Lee, and Mark Robinson

Approved (5 to 0)

Moved by Mark Robinson Seconded by Patricia Lee

Motion: Approve the staff recommendation.

Aye (3): Brent Hartman, Patricia Lee, and Mark Robinson

Nay (2): Kali Blount, and Rebecca Herrin

Approved (3 to 2)

- E. PUBLIC COMMENT
- F. MEMBER COMMENT
- G. NEXT MEETING DATE June 25, 2024
- H. ADJOURNMENT 10:08 PM